The Third Court


An Appellate Court with Civil and Criminal Jurisdiction

The Third Court of Appeals is one of 14 regional appellate courts in Texas.  The Court is composed of a chief justice and five other justices, each of whom is elected to a six-year term.  It has jurisdiction over trial courts of 24 Texas counties, stretching from Sterling County in west Texas to Fayette County in central Texas. 

The Third Court decides appeals in both civil and criminal cases and is located in Austin.  Its responsibility is to make sure that trial courts properly apply the law.  Appeals are usually heard by a panel of three judges.  The Court's decisions may be appealed further to either the Texas Supreme Court or the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals.  

The 24 counties served by the Third Court are listed below.

Counties Served by the Court

Bastrop             Lee

Bell                   Llano

Blanco              McCulloch

Burnet              Milam

Caldwell           Mills

Coke                Runnels

Comal              San Saba

Concho            Schleicher  

Fayette            Sterling

Hays                Tom Green

Irion                 Travis

Lampasas        Williamson  

Vote Chari Kelly for Third Court of Appeals on November 6th